How To Get Approval To Sell Brands On Amazon

How To Get Approval To Sell Brands On Amazon

Selling on Amazon is a popular method to start an online business, but it requires a significant amount of study and commitment. Imagine your despair after hours of hard effort researching feasible items only to learn that you’re in-demand, low-competition, and highly profitable product falls into one of Amazon’s banned categories.

Category and brand limitations that prevent Amazon sellers from selling specific products are one of the challenges that every Amazon seller encounters on a regular basis while sourcing things.

Because of how rich the market is, many sellers want to understand how to become ungated and authorised to offer other brands on Amazon.

You’re generally not permitted to sell a lot of high-profile brands unless you’ve been selling on Amazon for a long time.

You might believe it’s a better idea to save the headache by avoiding Amazon’s restricted categories, but if you’re an Amazon seller willing to go the additional mile, the sales prospects are immense!

What does it mean to be ‘gated’ on Amazon?

Customers all throughout the world trust Amazon because it strictly controls what third-party suppliers are allowed to offer on each marketplace.

Amazon forbids the sale of particular categories, subcategories, or brands. This prevents new merchants from selling specific things until they are approved. These restrictions make it illegal to sell counterfeit or hazardous goods. Regulatory regulations controlling such commodities are occasionally included in Amazon’s seller policies, and other times they reflect constraints imposed by state and federal governments.

Being ‘ungated’ on Amazon implies you’ve been given permission to sell some of these prohibited items.

What Is The Difference Between Amazon’s Gated And Ungated Categories?

Amazon is a firm that values its customers. As a result, creating a clear line between gated and ungated communities prevents vendors from abusing their power to offer things that have the potential to endanger the safety of consumers. This is essential to protect both sellers and buyers from any legal liability in the event that something unfavourable happens.

This method is also used to prevent vendors from overpricing things in unusual instances.

The distinction between gated and ungated categories on Amazon is also based on quality control and retaining the brand’s credibility.

The website has the following performance requirements for selling restricted categories:

  • You must have a pre-fulfillment cancel rate of less than 2.5 percent.
  • Your order fault rate can’t be more than 1%, and you can’t have any more than that.
  • You must have a late shipment rate of less than 4%.

Amazon’s success is based on its reputation for offering customers with an unrivalled shopping experience, thus this is their risk-reduction strategy of limiting entry to some popular product categories, especially branded items, to just the top sellers.

It’s crucial to distinguish between restricted categories and restricted items. You could want to source a product that looks to fall into a restricted category, but if the product isn’t genuinely restricted, you might be able to list it in a different category with a little tweaking.

It’s worth noting that just because a brand is on this list doesn’t indicate that every item under that brand is prohibited. Sometimes the entire brand is restricted, and other times it is simply a specific product or product range within the brand.

The companies on this list are known to be exclusive to new sellers, however it’s sometimes as simple as requesting permission from Amazon to start selling.

How long does it take to unlock Amazon’s gated categories?

There is no predetermined timescale, however it might take anything from a few minutes to a few hours for your ungating request to be approved. If gaining approval proves challenging, or if you need to complete a series of document verifications, the process might take several days.

What exactly are the distinctions between restricted categories, brands, and products?

Here’s a quick rundown:

  • Restricted categories are entire product categories that require seller clearance before any product within that category may be sold.
  • Restricted brands are those that third-party merchants are prohibited from selling on Amazon (typically well-known brands like Adidas).
  • Restricted items, such as some children’s toys, require further permission from Amazon sellers before they may be sold.

Whether you request approval to be ungated for a particular category, brand or product, the process and the waiting period shall be the same.

What items are gated on Amazon?

On Amazon, restricted categories often feature things that are extensively controlled or might be fake or notorious.

Below listed are the categories which are gated on Amazon, as of 2022:

  1. Amazon Watch Warranty FAQs
  2. Video, DVD and Blu-ray
  3. Collectible Coins
  4. Automotive and Powersports
  5. Textbook Rentals
  6. Clothing, Accessories, Shoes and Luggage
  7. Entertainment Collectibles
  8. Major Appliances
  9. Gift Cards
  10. Collectible Books
  11. Grocery and Gourmet Foods
  12. Sports Collectibles
  13. Kindle Accessories
  14. Fine Art
  15. Sexual Wellness
  16. Streaming Media Players
  17. Toys and Games (Holiday Selling Guidelines)
  18. Fine Jewellery

How to get approval to sell brands?

You must first be ungated in the category of the brand you choose before you may sell product belonging to that brand on Amazon. The following instructions will show you how to do so.

First and foremost, ensure that you are an Amazon Professional Seller.

Restricted categories can only be sold by people who have a Professional Selling Plan. This plan costs $39.99 per month, but Amazon gets a lower proportion of your sales, so if you sell a lot of items each month, you’ll save money over time with this plan. Check to see whether you have a wholesaler account with the same shipping address as your Amazon one.

Choose the brand you want to ungate

Select the Inventory option in Amazon Seller Central, then ‘Add A Product.’ You may choose from a range of categories and subcategories for the products you want to sell. Look for the Amazon Standard Identification Number (ASIN) or the product name (ASIN).

Fill out and submit the application form

Select ‘Listing Limitations Apply’ and then ‘Request Approval’ once you’ve identified the brand you want. The application form that we mentioned before may be found here. Fill out the form and send it to Amazon.

Many factors will play a role in whether or not your request is approved. For sellers who wish to offer limited edition brand items on Amazon, each brand has its own set of criteria.

You will need to undergo a thorough research of the requirements of each brand independently, to be able to sell them on Amazon as a certified seller.

What are your odds of getting your application approved?

Many factors will play a role in whether or not your request is approved. For sellers who wish to offer limited items on Amazon, each category has its own set of criteria. The majority of these categories will require further paperwork. A copy of your seller’s invoice, a fee, or even a letter of authenticity from the manufacturer may be required.

Still wondering whether going through all the hassle to get your brand-approved will be worth it? Hear us out.

Larger audiences await you in the areas to which you have access, and if you take advantage of this expanded reach, your exposure will rise. When you eventually acquire permission for Amazon restricted categories and brands, greater visibility means more sales and profit, so the work is well worth it.

After you’ve been accepted, make sure your pricing are competitive enough to compete with vendors who have been selling your brand for longer.

Recent Content